Jaden's Treats

FULLTIME MOM/ STUDENT MAKING TREATS FOR HER SON!

How to make your own Icing Sugar/ Confectioner Sugar

on November 20, 2011

Almond Buttercream on the bottom

Icing sugar on the top, and almond buttercream

I used to encounter this problem every time I would start baking something, “recipe calls form 110g of icing sugar.” Go to look in the cupboard, and wouldn’t ya know it, I am fresh out of icing sugar. AAAAARGH I don’t feel like driving all the way to the store, but wait a minute I have all this granulated sugar, and hey I have this cornstarch…hmmmm let me just make some icing sugar.

Icing sugar, also called confectioner sugar and powdered sugar is a fine sugar, mostly used for baking. The cornstarch is added to stop the sugar from caking up together. Its mainly used to making icing, frosting, and baking decorations (fondant, glazes…etc)

Ingredients:
1cp sugar
2tbsp cornstarch

You can use a coffee grinder, mortar and pestle, but I use a blender sometimes a food processor depending on how much I want to make, so I won’t run out!

Place the ingredients in the grinder and pulse for about 2-3min, shaking the sugar mixture to make sure all the sugar gets crushed.

Once you got the consistency you wanted, store it in a airtight container.

Enjoy! :0)

7 responses to “How to make your own Icing Sugar/ Confectioner Sugar

  1. Maria says:

    What a genius idea! So funny, because the other day when I was baking I realized half way through that I was out of icing sugar as well. I panicked, and of course got in my car, drove all the way to the store, etc. Thanks for sharing this!

    • jadenstreats says:

      No problem! I often run out due to loving to make a different dessert everyday…why? I don’t know! lol I am posting my homemade hazelnut praline recipe right now, its a great paste (kinda like peanut butter, but waaaaaay better!). Tastes great as a spread and I love to add it to a bowl of oatmeal, it gives it a great flavor!

  2. Deb Goold says:

    I like this web site it’s a master piece! Glad I observed this on google.

  3. Nam Fearing says:

    Simply wanna input on few general things, The website design and style is perfect, the articles is real great : D.

Leave a Reply

