Jaden's Treats

FULLTIME MOM/ STUDENT MAKING TREATS FOR HER SON!

Lemony Pound Cake

on December 9, 2011

Lemons
Lemons

     Last week, I decided to make a lemon pound cake, I had been wanting to bake something all day, but didnt know what! So I saw some lemons I had in the kitchen, I didnt have enough to make a lemon curd…soooo I decided to make a pound cake, since I only needed a few tbsps I put together this recipe…it’s quick and easy, plus it takes delicious.

     Lemons are used in many ways, cooking and non-cooking. Making Lemonade to make lemon facial masks! They are good astringents for your face and can help clear up dark spots on your skin! But today…I wasn’t interested in all of that! I was interested in making a pound cake. Pound cakes are usually a dense large cake, usually using a pound of each ingredient.  Any cake made with a 1:1:1:1 ratio of flour, butter, eggs, and sugar is also called a pound cake, even if the quantity used is smaller or larger than an actual pound. So I hope you enjoy this recipe!
 
 
Ingredients:
100g Butter, room temp.
100g Cake Flour, sifted
90g Icing Sugar, sifted
120g Eggs (2eggs)
20ml Whipping Cream
5g Baking Powder, I SIFT MINE IN W/ THE FLOUR!
2tbsp Lemon Juice
Pinch of Salt
1tsp Vanilla Extract or 1/2 vanilla pod
Zest of Lemon (optional)
 
Preheat your oven for 338F (120C i think)
 
watch the video for the steps!
 
1. Cream the butter, until pale white. then sift in the sugar, mix well
 
2. Add in the egg little by little, scraping the sides down once all the egg is incorporated!
 
3. Add in 1/2 of the flour+baking powder mix, Lemon juice, vanilla, salt and whipping cream. MIX!!!!
 
4. Add the remaining flour+baking powder and mix.
 
Scoop into the pan of your choice…I used a financier/bar mold so it took me about 20min to bake. If you use a loaf pan it will take about 40-45min! Let cool and you can top with whipped cream or a lemon frosting! I opted for whipped cream (bad idea, Jaden had it everywhere! If you have little ones use the frosting method below)
 
Icing method (MY WAY)
 
Preheat over to 250F
 
First I made an apricot glaze (water and apricot preserve, melted down) and I brush the top of the cake. Then I make a frosting 1/2c Icing Sugar and 3-4tbsp lemon juice, or water or liqueur of your choice (grown up pound cake!) brush on top of the cake, that is now covered with apricot glaze, is now covered with lemon icing on top of apricot glaze on top of a lemon pound cake. Place it in the oven for about 2-3min, until the icing glaze is now baked into the cake! it usually takes me about 2min.
 
Wrap the cake and let it sit for a day or two, this helps intensify the flavors and lets them melt together … if you can wait that long! If not, then just let it cool before you slice and enjoy!
One response to “Lemony Pound Cake

  1. Keep functioning ,splendid job!

Leave a Reply

