Jaden's Treats

FULLTIME MOM/ STUDENT MAKING TREATS FOR HER SON!

Tips on making the Perfect Holiday Cookies

on December 16, 2011

There’s no better gift than a homemade one, whether it be homemade family portrait christmas cards, bon bons and the most popular COOKIES, tis the season to pep yourself up for some holiday baking. Cookies should be an enjoyable task, and shouldn’t cause you to want to disown your family members, just so you wont have to bake at this time of year! Here are some handy tips on how to make cookies without any hassle!

1. Roll out Your Dough Between Sheets of Wax Paper, Not Parchment and Not Cling Wrap (Saran Wrap)
Wax paper peels easily off the top of the dough; then cut out the cookies and they’ll peel right off the bottom sheet. Not true with parchment paper and cling wrap; no matter how cold the dough is, it clings, and cling wrap might peel off, but then it sticks to itself causing you to have to use a whole freakin’ box to make a dozen cookies or so! GRRRRRRRR….whew calm down, on to the next tip! 

2. Chill the dough 
The secret to neat and tidy edges? Chill the dough before and after you cut out shapes, and whenever it gets soft. Just pop the dough, supported on a baking sheet, into the freezer for 10 – 15 min to firm it up, then continue

3. Metal Cup Measures Do Double Duty
When pressing dough into a pan for bars, use the smooth bottom of metal cup measures to pack it into an even layer. Using the plastic ones will only cause frustration, because I guarantee that the handles will pop off…not speaking…from…ummm experience, just stories that I have heard! :-/ 

4. The Foolproof Tool For Rolling Dough Evenly

Rolling Pin Rings
Rolling Pin Rings

Just slide them onto your rolling pin, and you can help make the dough even!(pictured to the right).

5. Add Salt and Leavening to Butter and Sugar Mixture
If you really want your salt and leavening well distributed throughout the dough, beat it in with the butter and sugar. I usually mix my ingredients this way whatever I make, you dont want to overmix after you added the flour…you will end up with cute little bricks! 🙂

    Well I hope this helps you, when your making her holiday bundles of sweet joy! If you have any questions, drop me a line!

3 responses to “Tips on making the Perfect Holiday Cookies

  1. Anna Faris says:

    This weblog has undoubtedly changed my perspective on this subject. Theres no way I wouldve thought about it this way if I hadnt come across your weblog. All I was doing was cruising the internet and I discovered your blog and all of a sudden my views have changed. Good on you, man!

  2. Micah Millen says:

    hello there and thank you for your information – I have certainly picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical points using this web site, as I experienced to reload the web site lots of times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and can damage your high quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my email and could look out for much more of your respective fascinating content. Make sure you update this again soon..

Leave a Reply

