Jaden's Treats

FULLTIME MOM/ STUDENT MAKING TREATS FOR HER SON!

Split Pea Soup

on January 9, 2012

Split Pea Soup w/ homemade biscuits

Split Pea Soup w/ homemade biscuits

This weekend, both my hubby and Jaden were sick, so instead of making chicken noodle soup..I decided to make split pea soup for my sick little men! I paired the soup with homemade biscuits (recipe will be coming in the following weeks…still making variations {plain, cranberry…etc}) Split Pea soup is one of my favorites, but I don’t make it very often, because I hate having to wait so long to make it…you wait because you will have to soak the split peas overnight …you can skip this step is you just put the split peas in a pot of simmer hot water for about 2min, then soak for 1hr!! (helpful tip)

It’s a hearty soup, which can easily be taken from vegetarian friendly to meat eater friendly. You can add any veggie of your choice, I use carrots, potatoes, onion, sometimes celery, bell peppers, chilies..to give it a kick. The meat can be substituted also, I’ve used ham hock, ham bone, bacon, smoke turkey wings, you can even use sausage. This soup recip can be a base for many Split Pea Soup variations…make it your own! I like to top mine with homemade croutons!

My son loved it, and he isn’t a veggie person, he would dip his biscuit in the soup and he just gobbled it right up.  I was super excited that he enjoyed it so much! This recipe is very simple and quite delicious….I hope you try it one day

Ingredients

  • 2 cp dried split peas
  • 2 quarts cold water
  • 1 1/2lbs ham bone
  • 1 onion, small diced
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 pinch dried marjoram
  • 3 carrots, chopped (I USED 1 LARGE CARROT)
  • 1 potato, diced

Directions

  • In a large stock pot, cover peas with 2 quarts cold water and soak overnight.
AGAIN IF YOU CAN’T WAIT…SIMMER ON MEDIUM FOR 2MIN. THEN SOAK FOR 1HR 🙂
  • Once peas are soaked, add ham bone, onion, salt, pepper and marjoram. Cover, bring to boil and then simmer for 45min, stirring occasionally.
WATCH THE VIDEO, TO SEE HOW I BREAKDOWN THE COOKING TIME… 🙂
  • At 45min, I remove bone; cut off meat, dice and return meat to soup.
  • Add  carrots and potatoes. Cook slowly, uncovered for 30 to 40 minutes, or until vegetables are tender.

 

Split Pea Soup Video

2 responses to “Split Pea Soup

  1. Arleen Hirn says:

    Hi. I clearly would like to firmly make a short remark and also let you know that in fact I’ve been focusing on your personal weblog for quite some time. Keep up the incredible work and I’m going to be returning back again consistently once again.

  2. Hey,Thanks for taking the time to write this blog.

Leave a Reply

