Jaden's Treats

FULLTIME MOM/ STUDENT MAKING TREATS FOR HER SON!

Blueberry Vanilla Bean Cake

on January 18, 2012

Blueberry Vanilla Bean Cake

Blueberry Vanilla Bean Cake

This recipe started off, in my head, as a strawberry shortcake, but I had no Strawberries or Whipping cream! So that was out of the question….but I had already started making my sponge cake!!! DOH!!!! Soooooo how do I fix them, when life gives you blueberry jam for a Christmas present, then make a blueberry layer cake! 🙂 I got a jar of really nice jam, but I’m not a fan of jam and toast…so I was going to make a blueberry coffee cake, but this presented itself and I went for it

Layers upon layers

Layers upon layers

If you don’t like blueberry, you can use strawberry preserves, marmalade anything really! The cake recipe, if your basic shortcake recipe, I used a 11.8″ x 15″ cookie sheet, this make it easier for me to size my cake into a cake that wouldn’t leave leftovers! I hate leftovers, don’t ask!!  You should use a a 7″ cake pan for this recipe, any bigger than that then your cake will give you about 2 thin round layers, instead of 3 medium layers!

Actual size

Actual size

You can decorate however you want, I used almonds and dollops of blueberry jam! The cake is moist, the buttercream is sweet and the blueberry jam is tart! PERFECT COMBINATIONS!! WOOOOTWOOOOOOT!!!!

SO LET’S GET START!

CAKE INGREDIENTS:

Egg 180 g
Sugar 90 g
Flour 75 g
Corn starch 20 g
Milk 20 ml
Butter 20 g, MELTED

VANILLA BEAN BUTTERCREAM

Vanilla Bean 1 pod or 2tsp Vanilla Extract or 2tsp Vanilla Bean Extract
Sugar 110 g
Milk 20 ml
Butter 250 g

BLUEBERRY JAM

Blueberry Jam 120g

DIRECTIONS- PREHEAT OVEN TO 375F

  • Start by mixing the sugar and the eggs together over a double boiler, mix until the egg and sugar gets to 40C (104F), once temp has reached…take from the boiler and continue to beat till thickened! (WATCH THE VIDEO)
  • Once the consistency is right, then add the sifted flour and cornstarch to the egg mixture. FOLD the ingredients together. Make sure you to this gently…you don’t want to overmix!
  • Mix in the melted butter and milk, and continue to fold.
  • Place the batter in the pan of your choice, this is perfect for an 11.8″ x 15″, ANY BIGGER THAT THIS, AND UR CAKE WILL BE TOO THIN
  • Bake at 375F for 25min in a cake pan….15min for a sheet pan that I used!
  • Once baked, let the cake cool out of the pan…I use parchment to line my pan
  • Place the room temp butter in a bowl with the sugar and cream together. Add the vanilla and mix! Add the milk little by little…if you add it all at once, it will be a gloppy mess!
  • Start by cutting your cake into the right size layers.
  • Layer the cake with buttercream and jam…u can do layer the flavors how you like.

Watch the video!!!

Enjoy!!

xoxo

Jaden’s Treats

 

2 responses to “Blueberry Vanilla Bean Cake

Leave a Reply

