Jaden's Treats

FULLTIME MOM/ STUDENT MAKING TREATS FOR HER SON!

Pad Thai (my way!!)

on February 1, 2012

Shrimp Pad Thai

Shrimp Pad Thai

Saturday, I watched a video on YouTube about making Pad Thai from scratch…and instantly thought “hey I am going to make this today!” then I saw all the ingredients, I knew I wasn’t going to find! YELLOW TOFU, SWEET RADISH….I mean really…I don’t even know where to begin to look for yellow tofu…sooooo I went to my local grocery store and found this Thai Kitchen Pad Thai kit. (p.s.– their is a Thai grocery store next to the Korean grocery I go to….DUH I am sooo slow!) This kit only comes with noodles and a sauce packet…you need to add the extras!

I got the new oil that I wanted to try with this recipe…I got it from ROSS, I love that store

mmmmmmmm

mmmmmmmmmm

I love Asian food, I LOVE NOODLES, I LOVE RICES, I LOVE PICKLED AND FERMENTED VEGGIES, Asian food is where it’s at…and I love to tell myself that “IF I EAT ENOUGH IT WILL HELP ME BE SKINNY…LOL” I know the truth…IT WILL!

this is the kit i used:

here is what I added to my kit:

3/7cp peeled and deveined shrimp ( you can use any meat you want!)

2 eggs

1/2cp bean sprouts

2 springs green onion

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 green hot chili, sliced thin

crushed peanuts

oil for frying

cup of water (just in case your pan is too hot)

The fixings

The fixings

  • start by frying the egg in oil…scramble well, then add the garlic, bean sprouts, green onion and chili. Set Aside.
  • In the same pan (i used a wok) add the cooked and drained noodles, and half of the sauce. Stir so it wont burn…check a noodle to make sure they are getting tender, for about 2-3min
  • Add the shrimp to the noodles, and add more sauce, keep stirring.  Then add the egg mixture and continue to stir.
  • Transfer the pad thai into a serving dish, and garnish with the crushed peanuts, chili flakes and lime juice!

 

I made a video of the recipe… hopefully you will watch and comment on it… Pad Thai

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

