Jaden's Treats

FULLTIME MOM/ STUDENT MAKING TREATS FOR HER SON!

Growing up in the 80’s and the 90’s

on April 16, 2012

Being a baby of the 80’s and a teen in the late 90’s, gave me the opportunity to experience movies and music of both decades (uggggh i feel old! LOL) I got to grow up watching awesome shows and movies, listening to music, that even though they referred to sex, it wasnt as distasteful and raunchy like the music of today. When video vixens wore lingerie or tight biker shorts, mini dresses or daisy dukes and that was like “wow I hope my mom doesn’t see me watching this video!”

tvshows

   When tv shows thought kissing was too taboo, but talked about important issues like teen sex, drugs, teen pregnancy and abuse. I mean tv shows are not like they used to be when I was growing up. Music was music in the 80’s, I mean “Take on me” “Tainted Love” come on these are classics! LoL George Michael, Sting, The Police, PRINCE(OMG I LOVE YOU), Madonna, Taylor Dayne, Lenny Kravitz, Nirvana, INXS, I could go on and on and on and on…I love listening to the music I grew up with, now I see with grandmas and grandpas always told us our music was just noise, because that’s how I feel about some of the music today. Rap and R&B are all about sex and they make it known which act they are talking about too!

music

   I remember waking up to MTV (back when it used to play music!!! REMEMBER THOSE DAY?!?!?!?!?!) My mom was a young mother so I grew up listening to New Edition, New Kids on the Block, Boyz to Men, George Michael, Prince, Michael Jackson. Plus my dad’s music, he’s old as dirt, Same Cooke, Marvin Gaye, Teddy Pendergrass, Barry White … I mean I had the best of both worlds! My sister and I used to stay up late, and sneak watch Arsenio Hall, while my mom ironed our clothes for school. Watching Martin, In Living Color and Living Single while my mom did my hair for school the next day. Aw it brings a smile to my face thinking about the good old days, before working and changing diapers became my life!

  I remember watching My So Called Life marathons on MTV….OMG I still love Jared Leto (he was Jordan Catalano!), having crushes on AC Slater (Mario Lopez, before he turned into a fame junkie!), Scott Baio, wasnt he the hottest babysitter ever!, Ralph Macchio, made me want to learn karate, Kirk Cameron, Leo Di Caprio, ALL THE MEMBERS ok NKOTB (don’t judge me!!), Mark Wahlberg, PRINCE (hopefully I won’t get sued for saying his name!!), Michael Jackson (before plastic surgery!)

     DON’T GET ME WRONG I LOVE SOME OF TODAY’S MUSIC! 30 SECONDS TO MARS, PRINCE (TEEHEE), I LOVE NEO-SOUL, Adele, the late Amy Winehouse, even though she had a troubled life, she had a great voice! Nickelback, Coldplay, Maxwell, Jill Scott, Floetry…I could go on, but Music is everything to me…if I sit in my car for 2secs without listening to an old R&B song, k-pop song, or soul blasting on my radio/ipod I get cranky! I am not a big fan of today’s rap, it’s just a little too much for me! If you have to edit a song for radio and all you hear is more bleeped out words than a song, then this song should never be released on the radio. THIS POST IS NOT A POST BASHING TV OR MUSIC OF TODAY, ITS A POST ABOUT HOW I MISS THE SIMPLICITY OF WHAT USED TO BE SHOWN ON TV AND BLASTED ON THE AIRWAVES. WHEN YOU COULD LET YOUR KIDS LISTEN TO MUSIC AND NOT BLUSH ABOUT WHAT’S BEING SAID.

 

2 responses to “Growing up in the 80’s and the 90’s

  1. Gardner's World says:

    You’re right. Each era (including the current one) produces great music, but what makes it memorable for a particular generation is the way we engaged with it at the time and the memories it evokes. A charming post!

    • OH MY GOODNESS YOU ARE SOOO RIGHT! I LET MY SON LISTEN TO THE MUSIC I USED TO LISTEN TO WHEN I WAS HIS AGE, HE IS ONLY 2 BUT HE WILL BOOGIE DOWN TO MICHAEL JACKSON, JAMS TO “FREEDOM” BY GEORGE MICHAELS! THANKS FOR THE COMMENT! 🙂

Leave a Reply

